In a surprising move from a man renowned for his resistance to technology, FIFA president Sepp Blatter has apologized
for World Cup refereeing errors and promised to "reopen the discussion
about the use of goal-line technology," according to The New York Times:
... said he would renew discussions about technology to determine if a
goal was scored, as was the case in the England-Germany game, but not
video replay that would have ruled out the Argentina goal against
Is that enough to appease outraged World Cup-watchers?
- The Case for Video Replay Previous arguments against technology "ring hollow," explains Robert Quigley
at Geekosystem. "For one thing, allegations of corruption swirl around
FIFA and even Mr. Blatter personally ... Less controversially, the
problem with disputed calls is that they play such a pivotal role in
the game: In a game where 1-0 is a common outcome for a match, it seems
unfair that the happenstance of one ref call should be the difference
between a 0-0 game and a 1-0 game, or a 1-0 victory and a 1-1 draw."
Instead, the "main focus" of the game should be "the skill of the
players themselves." Says Quigley, "even if the traditionalists win and
FIFA decides not to allow video replay, there's no excuse not to
enforce better reffing." He'd like to see the sport brought "into the
21st century, where it belongs."
- The Case for FIFA Being Nuts
The organization is "determined not to allow technology to interfere
with the ineptitude of their officials," writes The Telegraph's Shane Richmond
seemingly prior to the FIFA announcement. He agrees that introducing
technology can create problems, like delaying play, breaking up the
rhythm of the game, and creating different standards for different
games (not all clubs can afford the same technology). But, he argues,
"the fact that a problem cannot be solved perfectly is not an argument
against solving it as best we can."
- Lovely Little Announcement--Too Late for England "Blatter also admitted," relates Paul Lamkin at Pocket-lint, "that he had told the English FA that he was sorry that a refereeing mistake had cost its
team a goal. There's no confirmation yet as to whether he said: 'But
you still would have got stuffed anyway'. But we bet he did."
- Hell Froze Over "I need to pinch myself," writes CrunchGear's Nicholas Deleon. "The drama continues, but at the very least it looks like Fifa may be turning around."
Want to add to this story? Let us know in comments
or send an email to the author at
hhorn at theatlantic dot com.
You can share ideas for stories on the Open Wire.